Haryana Assembly elections: BJP scripts history with absolute majority, all eyes now on CM


October 19, 2014

New Delhi: In a historic shift in power in Haryana, the Bharatiya Janata Party won Assembly elections with absolute majority for the first time. The BJP, which only had four MLAs in Haryana till the morning of October 19, easily crossed the halfway mark of 45 in the 90-member Assembly winning 47 seats.

October 19, 2014

New Delhi: In a historic shift in power in Haryana, the Bharatiya Janata Party won Assembly elections with absolute majority for the first time. The BJP, which only had four MLAs in Haryana till the morning of October 19, easily crossed the halfway mark of 45 in the 90-member Assembly winning 47 seats.

The incumbent Congress government led by Bhupinder Singh Hooda has been decimated, coming a distant third with only 15 seats.

The BJP, which was riding high on the Narendra Modi wave in the Lok Sabha elections, kept up its momentum in the Assembly elections too. Its star campaigner in the state remained Prime Minister Modi, who campaigned in the interiors of Haryana tirelessly addressing several rallies.

In some of the constituencies where Modi addressed rallies, the BJP candidates won by a huge margin like Karnal, where Manoharlal Khattar won by over 60,000 votes, Badkhal (Faridabad) where Seema Trikha won by over 35,000 votes and many others.

Modi in his rallies took regular jibes at the 10-year Congress and Hooda regime for the Robert Vadra-DLF land deals. The party played the corruption and dynasty politics card to wipe out the Congress from the state. He made his call for a 'Congress mukt Bharat' louder during his campaigning for the Assembly elections.

The Congress on the other hand failed miserably despite ruling the state for 10 years.

The second position in Haryana has been taken by jailed leader OP Chautala's Indian National Lok Dal, which was riding on sympathy votes this election. The Congress at the third position has lost ground in many of its strongholds, the biggest one being Rewari, where it had held the seat for 6 terms. Congress's six-time MLA Captain Ajay Singh Yadav could not even make it to the second position in his Rewari seat, which was won by BJP's Randhir Singh Kapriwas by over 40,000 votes.

After the humiliating Lok Sabha elections loss, Congress star campaigners Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi were rarely seen campaigning in the state. The party banked on its local candidates' visibility and campaigns in their respective constituencies and kept its campaign centred around development.

But the party could not withstand the Modi wave and like the Lok Sabha elections, it suffered a major setback in Haryana too even as Hooda managed to retain his seat Garhi Sampla-Kiloi by over 40,000 votes.

Some seats that the Congress won were taken away by small margins like the Rai seat where Congress's Jai Tirath defeated INLD's Inderjeet by only 3 votes.

The INLD, which was hoping to garner sympathy votes for OP Chautala going to jail in the teachers' recruitment scam, too could not stand as the Modi wave once again swept the state. Chautala's grandson Dushyant Chautala too could not win the Uchana Kalan seat and lost to his BJP rival Prem Lata.

Whether it is the BJP's Modi wave or the call for change or corruption charges that have plagued the Congress, the people of Haryana this election have shifted their loyalties and are looking at new leaders in the state.

Who will be the Chief Minister?

Even as the BJP has won Haryana by a clear majority, what it lacks now is a chief ministerial candidate. It was Modi who led the party's campaign in Haryana and therefore, no other leader in the party could be seen taking away the limelight and coming out as the chief ministerial candidate although several of them have been nursing the ambition.

It is now a wait and watch game as the BJP leaders say that the party's high command will decide on the Chief Minister.

Manoharlal Khattar: Many names have been doing the rounds for the next Haryana Chief Minister. BJP's Karnal MLA Manoharlal Khattar is one of them. Khattar, considered to be a close aide of Modi, won his constituency by a huge margin, pushing the incumbent Congress to a dismal number 3. Khattar was an RSS worker from 1980 to 1994 and then joined the BJP.

Anil Vij: BJP's Ambala Cantt MLA Anil Vij won this Assembly election all on his own. Being the incumbent MLA in Ambala Cantt, Vij played the partiality card saying that the Hooda government did little for his area as it had a BJP MLA. Vij also saw no big leader from the party or even Modi campaign in his constituency. However, that didn't deter him and he saw himself as the star campaigner. Vij won Ambala Cantt by over 15,000 votes.

Krishan Pal Gujjar: Minister of State for Road Transport and Faridabad MP Krishan Pal Gujjar is also one of the names doing the rounds for being Haryana's Chief Minister, say sources. Gujjar has been the incumbent MLA of the BJP from Tigaon, the seat which the party lost this election. Gujjar's political journey with the BJP began in 1980 when he became the Students' Union Secretary. He then went to become a councillor in 1994 and a Haryana MLA as well as state transport minister in 1996. In 2000, he again became MLA in the Haryana Assembly. In 2009, Gurjar became the Haryana BJP President and was the chief till 2013. He had won the Faridabad seat in the Lok Sabha elections by a huge margin.

Captain Abhimanyu Singh: A former army officer, Captain Abhimanyu Singh contested Haryana assembly polls from the Narnaund seat of the Hisar district. He belongs to Jat community which plays a major role in state politics. BJP President Amit Shah was seen several times heaping praises on him.

Ram Bilas Sharma: Ram Bilas Sharma is the president of Haryana BJP. He fought the assembly polls from the Mahendergarh assembly segment of the state. He too stands a fair chance of taking over as the Chief Minister of Haryana.

The Final Tally:

BJP – 47

INLD – 19

Congress – 15

HJC – 2

SAD – 1

BSP – 1

Independent – 5

Total – 90

Big winners:

Manoharlal Khattar – Karnal – BJP

Anil Viz – Ambala Cantt – BJP

Ram Bilas Sharma – Mahendragarh – BJP

Om Prakash Dhankar – Badli – BJP

Mool Chand Sharma – Ballabhgarh – BJP

Umesh Aggarwal – Gurgaon – BJP

Gian Chand Gupta – Panchkula – BJP

Bhupinder Singh Hooda – Garhi Sampla Kiloi – Congress

Randeep Singh Surjewala – Kaithal – Congress

Kiran Chaudhury – Tosham – Congress

Abhay Singh Chautala – Ellenabad – INLD

Nayna Singh Chautala – Dabwali – INLD

Kuldeep Bishnoi – Adampur – HJC

Renuka Bishnoi – HJC

Big losers

Savitri Jindal – Hisar – Congress

Ranbir Singh Mahendra – Bhadra – Congress

Venod Sharma – Ambala City

Captain Ajay Singh Yadav – Rewari – Congress

Courtesy: IBN