Sunday, April 21, 2024
MyDosti AD
Home Cricket T20 Cricket – TNPL-6: Baba Aparajith shines as Nellai make it 5...

T20 Cricket – TNPL-6: Baba Aparajith shines as Nellai make it 5 in-a-row


JULY 10, 2022

Brief scores: Tiruppur Tamizhans 117-8 in 20 overs (Maan Bafna 37, Easwaran 3-11, Harish 2-24). Nellai Royal Kings 121-4 in 15.3 overs (B Aparajith 63, L Suryapprakash 28). Nellai won by 6 wickets.

CHENNAI: Baba Aparajith (63, 6×4, 2×6) led the show with the bat to help Nellai Royal Kings beat Tiruppur Tamizhans by 6 wickets in their TNPL-6 clash at Coimbatore on Sunday.

Aparajith’s 46-ball knock paved the way for Nellai to chase down Tiruppur’s modest target of 118 with 27 balls to spare. The win was Nellai’s fifth in-a-row as the B Indrajith-led side remain unbeaten in the competition.

Nellai lost opener NS Harish (7) early before opener L Suryapprakash (28) and Aparajith put the team’s chase on track with their 77-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. Aparajith was his fluent self and kept the scoreboard ticking with shots all-round the wicket.

Once Suryapprakash departed, Aparajith marched on adding 9 and 16 runs for the third and fourth wicket stands with Sanjay Yadav (7) and Indrajith respectively.

Aparajith was dismissed in the first ball of the 16th over, and Indrajith (5 n.o.) teamed up with G Ajitesh (10 n.o.) to cross the finish line in the next two deliveries. For Tiruppur, medium-pacers M Mohammed (2-29) and Aswin Crist (2-31) were the pick of the lot.

In the first half, Nellai restricted Tiruppur to 117-8 thanks the efforts of medium-pacer K Easwaran (3-11) and left-arm spinner NS Harish (2-24). The two kept the pressure on Tiruppur batsmen with their lines and lengths.

Maan K Bafna was the only batsman who managed to put bat to ball and top-scored with a 35-ball 37. Once Bafna got out in the 18th over, Tiruppur failed to finish on a high.

Courtesy/Source: TOI